Party time

Just a wee quick post about a party we were at yesterday. J doesn’t go to many parties. Not because he’s not invited or because we don’t take him but many of the people he goes to school with don’t seem to have parties. I’m not complaining, we’ve not really had an official party for him either. I don’t think he would cope very well with it. The noise and people would most likely be a bit too much.

He has been to a few of parties though and his tolerance has increased each time. He now settles eventually and at times even seems like he’s enjoying himself.

Yesterday was my cousin’s daughter’s birthday party and I took the three kids along. I’m grateful she invited us, as it’s always good to expose J to these type of situations amongst people he knows and people who understand his difficulties. My sister’s kids were there too. My sister’s and cousin’s children are very good with J and also help to entertain B and W.

The party was in the garden and thankfully the rain stayed off. To begin with J was determined to come into the house and find toys, rather than go out and join in with the party. My aunt and cousins allowed him to do this and encouraged him to join in with the other kids. I’m always anxious that he’s doing things he shouldn’t but they were really relaxed about it all and just told me to let him do what he was doing until he settled.

There was a big dance tent/bouncy castle which was covered and had lights and music inside. He had a wee look inside but decided he wasn’t going in. He ran around the garden and went everywhere the party wasn’t to begin with. Eventually though, he settled a bit more and even ventured inside the bouncy castle. My other cousin’s son was great with him and when he noticed J was covering his ears because he didn’t like the noise from the music he switched it off. I felt a bit bad at this but he reassured me they didn’t mind and it meant J could have a bounce. They were able to turn it back on once he’d decided he’d had enough of bouncing.

The kids had a great time & a happy meal into the bargain. Again I saw some progress from J and it was great that he was able to have this time to adjust and learn around people he knows and feels comfortable with. Thanks to my cousins, the kids and my aunt for the invitation and for being so patient and understanding!

Follow me on Facebook

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a comment