What is sleep deprivation?

šŸ˜“šŸ’¤šŸ˜©

Today I am tired, extremely tired. On top of our usual night time wakening with J, B has been having bad dreams and W is not well. The result has been many nights with almost no sleep at all. I am definitely feeling this today. So far I have tried to put the bottle steriliser into the fridge instead of the microwave (I even cleared a space on a shelf for it), I’ve attempted to squeeze J into one of W’s baby nappies, my eyebrows are pencilled in eyeliner rather than brow pencil and I tried to drive without putting the car in gear when pulling away from the traffic lights. Not to mention a few other mishaps along the way.

This made me wonder about what the definition of sleep deprivation actually is. Am I sleep deprived or just really, really tired?

According to Wikipedia “Sleep deprivation is the condition of not having enough sleep.” Surely that’s most people nowadays? It goes on to say “A chronic sleep deprived state can cause fatigue, daytime sleepiness, clumsiness and weight loss or weight gain. It adversely affects the brain and cognitive function.”

This is definitely me! Finally, a reason for my clumsiness and fuller figure. Excellent! Once they all start sleeping through the night I can look forward to the fact that I will become a skinny, steady-handed genius. All that’s been wrong is that I’ve not had enough sleep. Well, I’m off to bed to get in some of this wonderful sleep. Night everyone. If only…

Some information about autism and sleep:

Sleep – Ambitious About Autism

Helping Your Child Sleep – NAS

Follow me on Facebook

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

